Thanksgiving Lemon Meringue Pie

They say “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” Well at this given time I would like to change that to, “when life gives you lemons, make lemon meringue pie!” In honor of Thanksgiving and pies everywhere I would like to write about my Aunt Michelle’s lemon meringue pie. I know it’s the traditional pumpkin pie, but Thanksgiving is about being thankful and not just about pumpkins. Although, I am grateful for the pumpkin too.

At the moment where I live times are hard and things aren’t looking up quite yet. So I would like to stop for a moment and say for what I am thankful. I am thankful for the most amazing family a person could have. From my immediate family to my dear friends that are so far by relation, but so close at heart. Despite the distance between us, I have always felt so connected, even if distance separates us.  

On to a little bit about my Aunt. This Aunt Michelle of mine is also known as LL but is very well known for her amazing skills in the kitchen. Whatever she makes it’s always delicious.

My favorite dessert when I go to my Uncle and Aunt’s house is of course (as you all well know by now) is their lemon meringue pie. A few weeks ago I asked her to send me her recipe and here it is! 

You may also want to check out her online cookbook at: http://www.bookemon.com/book-profile/the-wildoaks-cookbook/81481

Now as for this recipe the first time I made it, I cried! Flat out I will tell you I got so aggravated I cried. Since I am such a nice person I will not let that happen to you and I will walk you through this step by step. The second time I made this pie, I thought of consulting with my Aunt and got some tips. She said “once you know how to work this recipe, you will know how make it”. LL was right, I jumped for joy as we sliced the first piece.

So let’s begin!

And always remember that if you don’t bake you can take: bakersntakers@gmail.com 

The ingredients that you will need:

Dough:

  • • 192 g margarine
  • • 2 cups flour
  • • 1 tspn sugar
  • • ¼ cup cold water.

Lemon Filling:

  • • 1 cup sugar
  • • ¼ cup corn flour
  • • 1 ½ cups water (yes that is the amount)
  • • 3 egg yolks, slightly beaten
  • • Grated rind of one lemon (optional)
  • • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • • What’s left of your 200g margarine

Meringue:

  • • 1/3 cup sugar
  • • 3 egg whites

And finally how to:

   First of all just make the dough it’s as easy as pie. Roll it out into a 9’ inch pie crust and set aside. Just a suggestion, prepare all your ingredients for the filling before you begin. 

  Take a small sauce pan and combine the sugar and corn flour. Add the water gradually and stir until all ingredients are smooth. Once that’s done, add the egg yolks and stir constantly and I mean constantly, on medium heat. Bring the mixture to a bowl. Don’t take it off until it has a porridge type texture, gloopy and lumpy. Now that was the tricky part.

Remove from flame and add the next few ingredients. Let that cool and go work on that meringue. As you may know by now, I love my Kitchen Aid, for one it aids me in the kitchen. A trick that my Dad taught me (he likes desserts as well) when you are making meringues it helps if your bowl and egg whites are cold. You want to get your meringues to have beautiful peeks. Just like this.

Once the lemon filling is cool pour it over the crust and add the meringue on top. Make sure the meringue covers the edges of the crust. Why? ‘cause the first time I made it the meringue just slipped off.

Now all that’s left is to stick it in a 350f /180c oven for 15-20 minutes. The top of the meringue should be slightly browned. And voila!

So just remember find things to be thankful for, good friends, good food and great memories. I would love if you guys would send me things that you are thankful for.

I would love to hear from you Happy Thanksgiving even to you non-Americans. Cause you don’t have to be American to be Thankful.

And always remember if you don’t bake you can take: bakersntakers@gmail.com

Love,

Vivs 🙂

bakersntakers@gmail.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lily
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 23:17:40

    Pie looks great. Can’t wait to have a taste. ILY Bomama

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

